November 14, 2014 – Will Zalatoris and Mike McCoy, two USGA national champions with strong ties to the Trans-Miss Golf Association, were among the 16 amateur golfers who have accepted invitations from the United States Golf Association’s International Team Selection Committee to participate in a practice session for the 2015 Walker Cup Match. The practice session will take place Dec. 17-20 at Frederica Golf Club in St. Simons Island, Ga.

Seventeen-year-old Zalatoris of Plano, currently a freshman at Wake Forest, had a torrid five week stretch this summer in which he won the 105th Texas Amateur at Brook Hollow Golf Club in Dallas, the 111th Trans-Miss Amateur at Southern Hills CC in Tulsa, and the U.S. Junior Amateur on the Nicklaus Course at Carlton Woods in The Woodlands.

Mike McCoy, of West Des Moines, Iowa, serves as Championship Chairman on the Executive Committee of the Trans-Miss Golf Association. McCoy, one of the most decorated amateur players over the years, topped off his impressive competitive résumé with a victory in the 2013 U.S. Mid-Amateur.

About the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the United States. Established in 1901, the Trans-Mississippi is composed of over 200 member clubs located throughout the country. The Association is governed by a board of independent directors and is headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Trans Miss Dual Logo White


4475 Trinity Mills Road, Suite #702526
Dallas, TX 75287