Club Turf Internship

Club Turf Internship Program

In 2014, TMGA leadership created the Club Turf Internship Program. The Club Turf Internship Program has become an integral part of the promotion of aspiring agronomy students. TMGA member clubs are selected to receive a grant in which students intern at some of the top clubs in the country gaining hands on experience from some of the industry’s most respected superintendents, with the Trans-Mississippi grant offsetting that expense to the club. This past year the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association provided internships to 12 member clubs totaling over $70,000 in grants.

The Club Turf Program allows agronomy students the opportunity to work with some of the best superintendents in the business at some of the country’s finest golf courses. Initial feedback from clubs and students alike has been very favorable. John Goode, chairman of the Scholarship Committee stated “This new program has been widely supported and allows for a win-win situation for students and facilities, while continuing the tradition on which the Trans-Miss was founded. We are excited about growing this program with additional clubs and funding at a higher level in the future.”

The facilities awarded grants will be posted in early December on the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association website for students to apply for positions directly with the club.

“Both the financial help as well as the recognition helped me — and so many others — to develop our careers.”
– Ken Gorzycki
Director of Agronomy, Horseshoe Bay Resort

How to Apply

Applications for a 2023 Club Turf Internship will open on TBD. The internship grants range in amount from $2,500 to $7,500. Member clubs that will receive a grant will be determined by their application and course projects interns would gain exposure to during their internship. Once the member clubs are selected and notified, the club can choose a student (from their own pool of applicants) or recent graduate of an agronomy or turf management program from an accredited university. Potential intern resumes have to be submitted and approved by the Scholarship Committee at akolb@trans-miss.org. Once the intern is approved, the funds will be sent to the club. Additional questions regarding the scholarship program should be sent via email to: akolb@trans-miss.org.

For the online Club Turf Internship Application click here. This application is for current TMGA Member Clubs only. Funding for internships come from member club dues and contributions by individuals and corporations, as well as interest from the association’s Endowment Fund.

Club Turf Internship Recipients

2022

Monterey Peninsula CC Scott Kirkwood skirkwood@mpccpb.org
San Francisco GC Taylor Andersen taylor@sfgolfclub.com
The Honors Course Will Misenhimer willm@honorscourse.net
Cedar Ridge CC Eddie Roach eroach@crccok.com
Cherry Hills CC Joshua Hester jhester@chcc.com
Prairie Dunes CC Cory Griess coryg@prairiedunes.com
Lakewood CC Michael Burke mburke@lakewoodcountryclub.net
Spanish Oaks GC Brian Acosta bacosta@spanishoaks.com
Meadow Club Sean Tully stully@meadowclub.com
Windsong Farm GC Jon Dailing jdailing@wsfarm.com
Blessings GC Troy Fink troyfink@blessingsgolf.com

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association Member Clubs listed above have been awarded a grant to hire an agronomy intern for 2022. If you are interested in working as an agronomy intern for a prominent golf club across the country, please contact each club and superintendent directly.

The Trans-Mississippi Turf Scholarship Fund is a 501(c)3 corporation.

Trans Miss Dual Logo White

Address

13760 Noel Road, Suite #327
Dallas, TX 75240

Email

Phone

469-458-9988