Seaside, Calif. – Josh Swanson and Riley Pumphrey shot a final round five-under-par to finish a wire to wire victory at Trans-Miss Four-Ball. Larry Nunez and Ron Kilby won the Senior Division by making birdie on the first playoff hole to edge out Reggie Howell and Bruce Smith.  Chris Maletis and Jim Wilkert finish off the wire to wire victory in the Super Senior Division.

Josh Swanson of Bee Cave, Texas and Riley Pumphrey of Norman, Okla. captured a convincing victory with their thirteen-under-par total that was eight clear of the next team. Swanson and Humphrey started with two birdies on their first four holes to set the pace for the Championship Division. They made pars rounding out their front side, the course’s back side. The duo made bogey on the par-five, first which was only their third of the entire championship. They were able to bounce back in a tremendous fashion with three straight birdies, adding another birdie on the seventh, which tied for the low round of the day.

Seth Frye of Edmond, Okla. and Paul Tessman of Montgomery, Texas finished in second place for the Championship Division despite carding a one-over-par round. Frye and Tessman only made two birdies on the day.  Shooting a second consecutive round of even par, Luke Kane and Ralph Ellis of Amarillo, Texas finished in solo third place.

Dramatic putts by Ron Kilby of McAllen, Texas and Larry Nunez of Austin, Texas saw them hoist the trophy after a one hole playoff. Needing birdie on the eighteenth hole, Nunez was left with a double-breaking 35 foot putt. Tracking towards the hole the entire time, the ball fell in the cup on one of the last two rolls. Bruce Smith of Longview had a seven foot par putt to force a playoff. The putt drilled the back of hole and both teams were tied at eight under for the tournament.

Playing the par three, seventeenth, all the competitors were inside 30 feet of the hole. Smith had the first look at birdie from just off the green. His putt slide just by and next up was Kilby. His putt was on the exact line that he had when he played the hole just 30 minutes earlier. While he missed that fifteen footer, his putt in the playoff was true and Kilby raised his club as the ball found the bottom of the hole. Howell left with six feet for his birdie came up short and Nunez and Kilby celebrated their victory.

Finishing in solo third place was the team of from Houston, Texas of Jimmy Burke and Hunter Nelson. The pair had the round of the day in the Senior Division with a five birdie and one bogey round of 68.

In the Super Senior Division, Chris Maletis of Portland, Ore. and Jim Wilkert of Spicewood, Texas closed out their wire to wire victory despite a one-over-par round.

Maletis and Wilkert started on the tenth hole and opened with a birdie. They made a bogey on the 13th but answer with back to back birdies on the 15th and 16th. That however was their last one of the day. They made a bogey on the eighteenth hole and two more on holes four and five. That however was good enough to outlast the field.

Denny Alexander and Pat Hare of Fort Worth, Texas made three birdies and three bogeys for an even par round to bump up to a solo second position at one-over-par for the championship. Steve Summers of Dallas, Texas and Phil Patterson of La Jolla, Calif. finished in third place.

The Trans-Miss Golf Association would like to thank the membership, maintenance, food & beverage and professional staff of Bayonet Blackhorse. The course and club were beyond hospitable to players of the 37th Trans-Miss Four-Ball. 

About the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the United States. Established in 1901, the Trans-Mississippi is composed of over 200 member clubs located throughout the country. The Association is governed by a board of independent directors and is headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Trans Miss Dual Logo White


4475 Trinity Mills Road, Suite #702526
Dallas, TX 75287