Bowling Green, Kentucky — The periodic rain and overcast conditions didn’t affect the team of Derek Meinhart and Joseph Deraney, who came from behind to win the 40th Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship at The Club at Olde Stone.  The duo, from Mattoon, Illinois and Belden, Mississippi, made a statement in their first Trans-Mississippi Golf Association event.  They started the final round with a four-shot deficit behind RW McDonald and Colby Harwell, of San Antonio, Texas, who finished tied for fourth and a three-shot deficit behind Richard Bradsby and Brian Dorfman, of Denver, Colorado, who finished in second place.  Their seven birdies, one eagle and no bogies, gave them an impressive 9-under-par 63 for the final round, paired with a 70 and 67 from the first two rounds, gave them a total score of 16-under-par 200.

The second place finishing team of Bradsby and Dorfman, played consistent golf over their three rounds.  They ended the tournament with a 5-under par 67, which they paired with a 66 and 68 to shoot 15-under-par 201 total.  The team of Blake Vinson and David Klaudt, of Aledo and Dallas, Texas, also shot 9-under-par 63 to match the low round of the day with five birdies, two eagles and no bogies.  They finished in third place with a 13-under-par 203 total score.

Dan Crockett and Trip Kuehne, of Franklin, Tennessee and Southlake, Texas, finished tied for fourth place with the team of McDonald and Harwell.  Both teams finished at 11-under-par 205 for the tournament.

The leaderboard for the Senior Division changed little during the third and final round and saw last year’s second place team claim this year’s title.  Mike Lohner and Don Dean, of Southlake and Austin, Texas, maintained their lead from the first round, shooting 3-under-par 69, combined with a 68 and 66 for a total score of 13-under-par 203.  The team of Greg Greenbaum and Jack Larkin, of Atlanta, Georgia, also maintained their standing in second place, also shooting a 3-under-par 69, combined with a 69 and 67 for 11-under-par 205 total score.

The team of Larry Nunez and Ron Kilby, of Austin, Texas, finished the tournament in third place with a total of 6-under-par 210.  The fourth place team shot the low round of the day in the division of 4-under-par 68, for a 5-under-par 211 total.

Ed Turner & Doug Hopton-Jones, Richardson and Mansfield, Texas, claimed the Super Senior Division by five strokes over Lester Devitt and Charles Yandell, of Concord, Massachusetts and Cashiers, North Carolina.  Turner and Hopton-Jones finished with a 1-under-par 71, along with a 73 and 67 for a total score of 5-under-par 211.  Devitt and Yandell shot a 1-over-par 73 to finish even-par for the tournament.

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association would like to extend its immense gratitude to The Club at Olde Stone’s ownership, staff, and members for helping make the 40th Trans-Mississippi Four-Ball Championship such a special and memorable event.  We would also like to thank all of the player who competed this week, and hope to see everyone at future TMGA Championships.

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association’s mission is to provide Championship competitions at some of the country’s best venues.  The Turf Scholarship Fund provides over $100,000 in funding for students pursuing a career in agronomy along with the Club Intern Program which brings students to serve as interns at some of these top facilities.  

About the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the United States. Established in 1901, the Trans-Mississippi is composed of over 200 member clubs located throughout the country. The Association is governed by a board of independent directors and is headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Trans Miss Dual Logo White


4475 Trinity Mills Road, Suite #702526
Dallas, TX 75287