Denver, CO  – The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association will head to Denver Country Club in Colorado for the 118th Trans-Mississippi Amateur Championship. The 72-hole stroke-play championship will be played on July 6-9. The 144 player field will be cut to the low 54 players and ties following the second round.

“We’re excited to host the Trans-Mississippi Amateur Championship on a newly enhanced golf course, redesigned by Gil Hanse. We can’t wait to see how the course tests every aspect of the player’s games and look forward to hosting them at our historic golf club.” said Director of Golf Steven David.

Founded in 1887, Denver Country Club was the first club west of the Mississippi to be admitted to the USGA (1896). Through its over 125 years of existence, the club has always been evolving to stay with the times while holding true to the traditions that have made DCC what it is today. Denver Country Club last hosted the TMGA Amateur Championship in 2010 (Won by Scott Pickney) and the TMGA Four-Ball Championship in 2009 (won by John Elway and Tom Hart). The club has hosted the amateur championship 5 times (1910, 1921, 1946, 1980, and 2010), only Kansas City Country Club (8), Brook Hollow Golf Club (7) The Broadmoor (6), Prairie Dunes Country Club (6), and The Minikahda Club (6) have hosted it more times. 

Within the past decade, this elite amateur championship has been contested at consensus Top 100 clubs such as Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, KS, (2017), The Olympic Club in San Francisco, CA (2016), Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, OK, (2014), and Oak Tree National in Edmund, OK, (2012). Other highly regarded courses that have recently welcomed the Trans-Miss Amateur include Windsong Farm Golf Club in Minnesota (2021), Brookside Golf & Country Club in Ohio (2018), and Maridoe Golf Club in Texas (2019).

The TMGA has seen a marked ascension in both reputation and national rankings. The 2017, 2018 & 2019 Trans-Mississippi Amateur Championships received “A” ratings from the World Amateur Golf Rankings for the strength of the field. In addition, WAGR considered the 114th Trans-Mississippi Amateur as the seventh-best field of the 37 tournaments that received “A” ratings. This year’s field will feature 54 players ranked inside the Top-500 in WAGR, including defending Champion Derek Hitchner.

The Trans-Mississippi Amateur was first hosted in 1901 at Kansas City Country Club and has a decorated history. Over the past century, the event has crowned many worthy champions including 18-time major champion Jack Nicklaus in 1958 and 1959, two-time Masters champion Ben Crenshaw in 1972, U.S. Open champion Bryson DeChambeau in 2013, the twelfth ranked player in the world Will Zalatoris in 2014 & 2016 and the fourth ranked player in the world Collin Morikawa in 2015.

The Trans-Mississippi Amateur Championship is a member of the Elite Amateur Golf Series. The Elite Amateur Cup is a series of the seven competitive amateur championships (Sunnehanna, Northeast, North & South, Trans-Mississippi, Southern, Pacific Coast, and Western) where the top amateur golfers compete to earn points through top finishes at each of the events. After the final events, the points are totaled to identify a champion of the series. Rewards for accumulating the most points include exemptions into professional tournaments and USGA championships.

About the Trans-Mississippi Golf Association

The Trans-Mississippi Golf Association is one of the oldest and most prestigious golf organizations in the United States. Established in 1901, the Trans-Mississippi is composed of over 200 member clubs located throughout the country. The Association is governed by a board of independent directors and is headquartered in Dallas, TX.

Trans Miss Dual Logo White


4475 Trinity Mills Road, Suite #702526
Dallas, TX 75287